You are currently viewing Three Types of Food in Ayurveda based on three gunas

Three Types of Food in Ayurveda based on three gunas

Even before trying to understand three types of food in Ayurveda, you should first try and understand Three Types of Guna

Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas, are known as the three Gunas and hold immense importance in Ancient Hindu Scriptures.

Our food as per Ayurveda is also associated with these three Gunas and therefore it influences the different qualities of our body and mind.

Sattva Rajas Tamas – 3 Gunas as per Astrology

Sattva is associated with purity, harmony, and enlightenment, while Rajas is associated with action, passion, and restlessness, and Tamas is associated with dullness, lethargy, and inertia.

According to astrology, these Gunas are also associated with the zodiac signs and the planets.

Each zodiac sign is believed to possess a particular combination of these Gunas, which influences the traits and behaviors of individuals born under those signs.

So you see, from planets or humankind, no one is beyond the reach of these Three Types of Gunas

Based on these three Gunas, their qualities, and their effects on the body and mind, there are three types of food in Ayurveda, the ancient Indian system of medicine, also classifies foods into three types of foods, known as Sattvic, Rajasic, and Tamasic.

Sattva Food or Sattvic diet – Why adopt a Sattvic diet?

As per the classification of food in Ancient Hindu Scriptures, the Sattvic diet is the first type out of the three types of food in Ayurveda

that consists of foods that promote purity, clarity, and mindfulness.

It includes fresh fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts, seeds, and dairy products.

Sattvic food is believed to nourish the body and mind, and it is suitable for individuals who strive for spiritual growth and balance.

It has less salt, less oil, and no meat or animal flesh-based consumption.

It also does not include several other things like onion etc. which are considered Tamasik.

It helps in calming the mind, increasing focus and concentration, and fostering a sense of inner peace.

That is why, Satvic food also does not allow things like caffeine or garlic which can be good for high activity aka Rajas but not here

three types of food in Ayurveda
Indian Food

Rajasic food and Rajasic diet – When to adopt a Rajasic diet?

On the other hand, a Rajasic diet is characterized by foods that are stimulating, spicy, and energy-provoking.

It includes pungent spices, caffeine, and foods that are high in fat and salt.

Rajasic food is suitable for individuals who lead an active lifestyle and require a lot of energy. It helps in boosting the metabolism, enhancing physical strength, and promoting vitality.

In ancient times this was the food for Kshatriyas [warriors] or kings or anyone who indulged in heavy activity.

So if you are a bodybuilder or athlete or anyone who is involved in physical labor, you will need Rajasic food.

However, excessive consumption of Rajasic food can lead to restlessness, irritability, and imbalances in the body and mind.

Tamasic food and Tamasic diet – Why should you not adopt a Tamasic diet?

When you are trying to understand food as per Ancient Hindu Scriptures, Tamasic food, is the third type among the three types of food in Ayurveda.

As the name suggests, it is associated with dullness, darkness, and inertia.

It includes processed, stale, and heavy foods that are difficult to digest.

Tamasic food is believed to dull the mind and make the body lethargic. It is best to avoid a Tamasic diet as it can lead to imbalances, sluggishness, and a lack of motivation.

This type of food is said to be detrimental to both physical and mental well-being.

Think of alcohol, any sort of drugs, fish, meat, onion, any sort of intoxicants, tobacco are all examples of Tamasic food

One more practice that was present in India from ancient times and is practiced even today is to consume fresh food.

Leftovers are Tamasic

So when you freeze food for a week or sometimes for a month,, you are by default serving a Tamasic Food

Think of it

Three Types of Personalities as per Hindu Philosophy

Understanding the three types of personalities in Hindu philosophy, namely Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas, can provide valuable insights into human behavior and help us navigate life more effectively.

Sattva personalities are characterized by their calmness, purity, and spiritual inclination. They are often compassionate, and selfless, and possess a deep understanding of the interconnectedness of all beings. Sattva personalities are naturally drawn towards Sattvic food as it resonates with their heightened sense of awareness and desire for growth.

As per ancient Hindu Scriptures, the converse is also true. If you start consuming Sattvic food, it will enhance your Sattva personality traits

Likewise, Rajasic Food nourishes Rajas personality traits

Rajas personalities, are characterized by their ambition, passion, and competitiveness. They are driven individuals who thrive on action and may be prone to restlessness and impatience. Rajas personalities can benefit from adopting a Sattvic diet during periods of stress or when they need to cultivate a sense of balance and inner peace.

Tamas personality, unfortunately, exhibits qualities of laziness, inertia, and dullness. They often lack motivation and may struggle with self-discipline. It is crucial for Tamas personalities to be mindful of their food choices and avoid Tamasic foods, as these can further exacerbate their inherent tendencies.

Further things to understand about the Food as per Ancient Hindu Scriptures

The Hindu scriptures, including the Bhagavad Gita and the ancient texts of Ayurveda, shed light on the significance of food and its impact on our physical, mental, and spiritual well-being. These scriptures emphasize that the food we consume not only nourishes our body but also affects our mind and soul.

If we wish to embark on a journey of self-discovery and spiritual growth, it is essential to start with the right food choices.

And for that, we should not only know WHAT, but we should also know HOW

Our next blog talks about How to consume food as per the Hindu way of life

So you see, merely adopting a Sattvic diet may provide you the necessary foundation for a balanced and harmonious life.

But you also need to learn about How to consume these foods that are pure, fresh, and free from negative vibrations, and we can align ourselves with divine qualities and cultivate a deeper connection with our higher self.

Click here to learn about the rules for consuming food as per Hindu Scriptures

In conclusion, we want to emphasize about Hindu Wisdom Series Content

We are creating several Guides and Blog posts that may help you learn about the Hindu Scriptures, Stories, and Symbology in a much better way

We recommend you go through the above-mentioned guides once you have gone through the concept of Sattvic, Rajasic, and Tamasic food.

Do let us know your views about our work by writing to us and do not forget to explore our games

Anupam Kaushik

Mr. Anupam Kaushik, the founder of Mokshaverse, is passionate about children and futuristic education. He has helped several school leaders, students, parents, and entrepreneurs around education.

Leave a Reply